The Torbay Chess Congress
An annual congress held on the English Riviera
The Torbay Congress
Torbay Chess Congress
Torbay Chess Congress

54th Torbay Chess Congress Report

18th - 20th November 2022 at the TLH Toorak Hotel, Torquay

We thank Brendan O'Gorman for making his photographs of the Congress available to view.


Open 38; Major 30; Intermediate 56; Foundation 32.

This makes a total of 156: 19 up on last year, and the largest total in more than a decade. There were 10 withdrawals prior to the start of the Congress.

Prize Winners


Scroll the table to the right to see full details.

1stBao Nghia Dong £240
Joint 2ndWilliam M McDougallChichester4All winning £75
Scott A CrockartPlymouth
Mark C RichChislehurst
Rating Prize
2109 - 2072
Jonathan WR UnderwoodSeaton3Each winning £15
Daniel B RosenAshtead
Rating Prize
2048 - 2031
Stephen J HomerExeter3Winning £30
Rating Prize
2021 - 1974
Nigel RE AldrittHarrow3Winning £30
Rating Prize
1972 - 1930
Daniel Pousada GarciaEach winning £15
Ravi WariyarForest Hall
Rating Prize
1912 - 1816
George A DarlingNewton AbbotEach winning £15
Caleb CaleshuPlymouth
Rating Prize
Under 1789
Cameron DavisExeterEach winning £15
Derek SimpsonHemel Hempstead
Slow Starter Prize (0/2)Alan W BruseyNewton Abbot3Winning £30


Scroll the table to the right to see full details.

1stBrendan O'GormanDHSS£240
2ndGeorge LekoudisBarnstaple4£140
Joint 3rdFrederick ColemanAll winning £30
Igor DoklesticBristol & Clifton
John CH Nyman
Rating Prize
1838 - 1833
Paul BrooksPaignton3Winning £30
Rating Prize
1829 - 1814
Peter E HalmkinWinning £30
Rating Prize
1813 - 1803
Roger Greatorex3Each winning £15
Matthew TimbrellBath
Rating Prize
1800 - 1781
Kevin WinterIlkley Chess CentreEach winning £15
George GeorgiouSwindon
Rating Prize
Under 1765
Thomas R AndersonSouthampton3Winning £30
Slow Starter Prize (0/2)Arthur HibbittWinning £30


Scroll the table to the right to see full details.

1stSpencer Lawrence5£240
Joint 2ndKate WalkerTelepost4All winning £57
Stephen WilliamsCwmbran
Alan R Prince
Laurence JM Tarbuck
Rating Prize
1703 - 1689
Reece WhittingtonExeterWinning £30
Rating Prize
1678 - 1668
Brooklyn StephensNewton AbbotWinning £30
Rating Prize
1642 - 1614
Malcolm RobertsHolmes Chapel3Each winning £10
Robert H WilloughbyWest Nottingham
Robert G WilbyPlymouth
Rating Prize
1603 - 1583
Oliver MainNewton Abbot3Winning £30
Rating Prize
1576 - 1570
Maurice A RichardsBudeEach winning £15
Ian P BlencoweWotton Hall
Rating Prize
1567 - 1538
James H Galloway3Winning £30
Rating Prize
1553 - 1510
Michael R JonesChislehurst2Each winning £8
Jack SmithTeignmouth
Oliver Mortimer Moretonhampstead
Richard BrentonNewton Abbot
Rating Prize
1492 - 1458
Martyn J MaberTaunton3Winning £30
Rating Prize
Under 1451
Jeremy JA TurnerHammersmithWinning £30
Slow Starter Prize (0/2)Charles DoidgeTeignmouth3Winning £30


Scroll the table to the right to see full details.

1stGerard t'HartPlymouth5£50*
Joint 2ndGeorge A WrightWimborne4Each winning £190*
Joy P Fursman
Scott WaughFarehamWinning £50*
Rating Prize
1466 - 1410
Kevin D MarkeyStroud3Winning £30
Rating Prize
1399 - 1385
Barry LippardBrixham3Winning £30
Rating Prize
1375 - 1352
Clive LiggattTotnesEach winning £10
Shaun WalshBristol
Sophie HughesIpswich
Rating Prize
1345 - 1278
David EdwardsBarnstapleWinning £30
Rating Prize
Under 1269
Lloyd RussellWinning £30
Slow Starter Prize (0/2)Spencer Russ3Winning £30

*Adjusted. Under rule 9, an unrated player (i.e. a player entered on the basis of a rating estimated by the organisers) may not win more than £50 in prize money and may not win any rating prize. The prize money is then divided between the eligible recipients.

The Trophies

Torbay Individual Championships (incorporated in the Congress)

Open: Basil Wallis CupScott A CrockartPlymouth
Major: Challenge CupPaul BrooksNewton Abbot
Intermediate: Intermediate CupReece WhittingtonExeter
Foundation: Candidates CupTrevor HurtSouth Hams

Best Score by a Devon Player in the Graded Sections

Ralph Newman CupGeorge LekoudisBarnstaple

Best Score by a Devon Junior

John Whitfield CupDavid EdwardsBarnstaple

Team Event

Teams of four players entered the Team Competition. This year there were nine entries. The Plymouth team set a cracking pace from the start and duly came out winners.

The winning Plymouth team consisted of
Scott Crockart (Open)
Rob Wilby (Intermediate)
Chris Peacock (Intermediate)
Gerard t'Hart (Foundation)

The Plymouth team win £50 for their club.

The 54th Congress

Many people were involved in the planning, setting up and running of the Congress. We are grateful to:

  • Kitsons for their continued sponsorship of the Congress.
  • Tony Tatam for managing the entries, the pairings and calculating the winners.
  • Phil McConnell for running the website, producing the charts and just about everything else.
  • John Constable and Graham Mill-Wilson for arbiting the Open and Major tournaments.
  • Gail McConnell for setting up boards and clocks prior to the start.
  • The Plymouth and South Hams clubs for the loan of their clocks and sets.
  • The Devon County Chess Association for the loan of their digital clocks.
  • Mr Roger Heale, Duncan Birrell and the staff of the Toorak Hotel for their wonderful support.
  • All the players for their generous contributions to the Congress.

Great job everyone.

Ken Alexander
Torbay Chess Congress Organiser
November 2022



The 2024 Torbay Congress is at the Toorak Hotel

The 2024 Torbay Congress will take place on Friday 8th through to Sunday 10th November.

The venue is the TLH Toorak Hotel, Torquay.

TLH Toorak Hotel Torbay Chess Conference