The Torbay Chess Congress
An annual congress held on the English Riviera
The Torbay Congress
Torbay Chess Congress
Torbay Chess Congress

51st Torbay Chess Congress Report

10th - 12th November 2017 at the Livermead House Hotel, Torquay


Open 14; Major 40; Intermediate 35; Foundation 40.

This makes a total of 129: 3 down on last year which was the 50th Anniversary Congress. The three lower sections were well subscribed, but the clash with a 4NCL weekend, and the loss of the qualifying place for the British in 2018, affected the entry in the Open.

Prize Winners


Scroll the table to the right to see full details.

Joint 1stStephen Berry (202)Wimbledon4Both winning £182.50
Dominic Mackle (198)Newton Abbot
Joint 3rdMike Waddington (191)Dorchester3Both winning £40
Stephen Dilleigh (188)Horfield
Grading Prize Under 187John Wheeler (185)CoshamAll winning £10
David Littlejohns (178)Taunton
James Connor Forster (169)Southbourne
Slow Starter Prize (0/2)Not awarded


Scroll the table to the right to see full details.

Joint 1stRobert Taylor (164)DownendBoth winning £182.50
Plamen Sivrev (161)Plymouth
Joint 3rdYasser Tello (162)Wimbledon4Both winning £40
Russell Goodfellow (159)
Grading Prize 161 – 155 incMatthew Wilson (161)TorbayBoth winning £15
Martyn Harris (155)Newcastle under Lyme
Grading Prize 154 – 144 incMichael Stinton-Brownbridge (154)PlymouthWinning £30
Grading Prize Under 144Stephen Williams (140) Cwmbran 3Winning £30
Slow Starter Prize (0/2)David Archer (154)South Hams2Winning £30


Scroll the table to the right to see full details.

Joint 1stEddie Hurst (125)Exeter UniversityBoth winning £182.50
Adrian Riley (122)4NCL Oxfordshire
3rdDavid Jenkins (139)Penwith4Winning £80
Grading Prize 131 – 127Ian Blencowe (131)Wotton Hall/Braille3All winning £10
Richard Livermore (129)Downend & Fishponds
Neal Fisher(127)Peterborough
Grading Prize 126 – 120 incRobert Willoughby (126)West Nottingham3Winning £30
Grading Prize Under 120 incMarek Schroeder (118) Birmingham Winning £30
Slow Starter Prize (0/2)David Lawrence (127)King's HeadBoth winning £15
Michael Dean (103)Bexhill


Scroll the table to the right to see full details.

1stTerry Wang (ungraded)Plymouth5Winning £80
Joint 2ndJason Madden (111) Leamington 4All winning £122
Andy Proudfoot (106)Plymouth
Christine Constable (98)Bude
Grading Prize 106 – 98 incJoy Fursman (104)All winning £10
Alan Stonebridge (104)Wellington
Norman Tidy (101)Newton Abbot
Grading Prize 97 – 82 incKen Ashby (97)South Hams3All winning £10
Paul Broderick (97)Newport (Shropshire)
John Carr (91)
Grading Prize Under 82Edmund Holliday (75)MaidenheadBoth winning £15
James Gibbs (35)TBGS
Slow Starter Prize (0/2)Kenneth Hayden-Sadler (64) Teignmouth 2Both winning £15
Surinder Virdee (43)TBGS

Torbay Individual Championships (incorporated in the Congress)

Open: Basil Wallis CupDominic MackleNewton Abbot
Major: Challenge CupPlamen SivrevPlymouth
Intermediate: Intermediate CupNathan MillsTorquay
Foundation: Candidates CupTerry WangPlymouth

Best Score by a Devon Player in the Graded Sections

Ralph Newman CupTerry WangPlymouth

Best Score by a Devon Junior

John Whitfield CupTerry WangPlymouth

Team Event

Teams of four players entered the competition. This year there were five entries. The Torbay team set a cracking pace from the start, but were strongly chased by Plymouth who ended just half a point short.

The winning Torbay team consisted of
Dominic Mackle
Matthew Wilson
Terence Greenaway
Nathan Mills

The 51st Congress

The Congress was opened by Jonathan Dickson, a partner of our valued, long term sponsors, Kitsons Solicitors. He recalled Mark Batten's role both within Kitsons and within the Congress. He was kind enough to say he thought the Congress was a well run event. We are very grateful to Kitsons for their continued support.

The team running the Congress was the same as last year but individual roles changed. In particular Phil McConnell put in a sterling performance managing the entries, the finances, the website as well as publishing the pairings and results updates. I am most indebted to Phil for his support. We had the top team of arbiters consisting of Tony Tatam, John Ariss and Graham Mill-Wilson who controlled the Congress with skill and good humour.

Many clubs and organisations helped to make the Congress a success. The Bristol League again loaned us their clocks, as did the clubs at Newton Abbot, Plymouth and South Hams. Keverel Chess supplied us with sets and boards.

Many individuals also contributed. Trefor Thynne ferried clocks to us; Mark Cockerton liaised with Kitsons; Plamen Sivrev arrived early and helped set up the room; Rosemary Pavitt scribed the wall charts; Grant Daly collected the clocks for return to Bristol; and some wonderful people packed kit away at the end.

Ken Alexander
Congress Organiser
November 2017



The 2024 Torbay Congress is at the Toorak Hotel

The 2024 Torbay Congress will take place on Friday 8th through to Sunday 10th November.

The venue is the TLH Toorak Hotel, Torquay.

TLH Toorak Hotel Torbay Chess Conference