The Torbay Chess Congress
An annual congress held on the English Riviera
The Torbay Congress
Torbay Chess Congress
Torbay Chess Congress

Torbay Congress Report     (Amended 14th November 2012)

9 – 11th November 2012 at the Rosetor Suite, Riviera International Conference Centre, Torquay.

Brendan O'Gorman's photographs taken at the Congress can be viewed here.


Open 29 (2011 – 30); Major; 44 (2011 – 20); Intermediate 36 (2011 – 59); Minor 44 (2011 – 43).

Giving totals of 153 entries for 2012 and 152 entries for 2011.

Tournament Winners

OpenNeil Carr (Writtle) jointly with John Stephens (Exmouth), both on 4 / 5
MajorRichard Desmedt (Wombwell) on 4.5 / 5
IntermediateDavid Jenkins (Camborne) 4.5 / 5
MinorGeoffrey Jenkins (Exeter) on 4.5 /5

British Championship Qualifier and Bursary of £100.

John Stephens.

Torbay League Individual Championships

OpenBasil Wallis CupAdam Batson (Torquay) on 3 / 5
MajorChallenge CupH. William Ingham (Teignmouth) on 4 / 5
IntermediateIntermediate CupJohn Dean (Plymouth) on 2.5 / 5
MinorCandidates CupMichael Cuggy (Brixham) on 4 / 5

Best Score by a Devon Player in the Graded Sections

Winner of the Ralph Newman Cup:           Geoffrey Jenkins (Exeter).

Best Score by a Junior.

The John Whitfield Cup is awarded to the best junior score across all 4 sections. The winner was Reece Whittington in the Minor Section scoring 2 from 5 at the age of 13 years, Grade 105.

Team Event

A four-player team event was held for the first time, with the players making up the team having to come from the same club. There were 5 teams: Plymouth; Teignmouth; South Hams; Exeter and Wessex.

Wessex won the £40 team prize. The team consisted of Mike Yeo (Open), Allan Pleasants (Open), Keith Gregory (Open) and Joe Coburn (Open), scoring 10.5 from a possible 20. In second place were the Exeter team on 9: Dave Regis (Open), Charles Keen (Major), Jeremy Amos (Intermediate) and Terrance Earnshaw (Minor).


The venue was the Rosetor Suite at the RICC.

The new layout was used to give exclusive area for the Open, the Bookstall and analysis area near the entry area next to the licensed bar, and the control team to be adjacent one another, at the end of their respective sections. This again proved a very satisfactory arrangement.

Ray Chubb
Congress Secretary