The Torbay Chess Congress
An annual congress held on the English Riviera
The Torbay Congress
Torbay Chess Congress
Torbay Chess Congress

47th Torbay Chess Congress Report

15th - 17th November 2013 at the Toorak Hotel, Torquay

The full results and cross tables can be viewed here.

Brendan O'Gorman's photographs taken at the Congress can be viewed here.

British Championship Qualifier and Bursary of £100

The winner was Alan Brusey (Teignmouth).

Torbay League Individual Championships

OpenBasil Wallis CupAlan Brusey (Teignmouth) on 4 / 5
MajorChallenge CupAndrew Dunn (Torquay) on 3.5 / 5
InermediateIntermediate CupTerence V Greenaway (Torquay) on 4.5 / 5
MinorCandidates CupPhilip McConnell (South Hams) on 4 / 5

Ralph Newman Cup

Awarded for the best score by a Devon player in the graded Tournaments, the winner was Terence V Greenaway (South Hams).

John Whitfield Cup

Awarded for the best score by a junior across all four tournaments, the winner was Vigneshwan Ramesh (Grade 112) in the Minor Section scoring 3.5 / 5 at the age of 13 years.

Team Competition

This is a four-player team competition, with the players making up the teams having to come from the same club. There were seven teams: South Hams, Newton Abbot 1 and Newton Abbot 2, Patchway, Tiverton, Exeter and Teignmouth.

Newton Abbot 2 and Patchway jointly won, scoring 12 from a possible 20, with £20 going to each team. The teams consisted of

  • Newton Abbot: Jaquie Barber-Lafon, Vig Ramesh, Nandaja Narayanan and Jim Knott
  • Patchway: Peter Saunders, Onos Kofi-Ofuafor, David Saint and Steven Woolgar.

In second place were the Teignmouth and South Hams teams, both on 11.


Intermediate 2836

Control Team

Our thanks to Control Team consisting of

  • Ewart Smith (Open)
  • Tony Tatam (Major) who also submitted the grading to the ECF
  • Ray Chubb (Intermediate)
  • Mark Batten (Minor).

Congress Organiser

The Congress Organiser was Mark Batten, who is thanked by all for a very successful Congress.


The venue was the Toorak Hotel, Torquay. The facilities and venue were found very favourable by the players who look forward to coming back next year.

Ray Chubb
Congress Secretary
November 2013